Payne, Harrison take out top honours at 2023 Devils Awards

The 2023 season has been another big year for the Tasmania Devils talent pathway program, with the year that was celebrated in Launceston on Saturday 14 October.


Jack Riewoldt Medallist (Best & Fairest): Geordie Payne (Wynyard)

Best & Fairest Runner Up: Beau Nash (Devonport)

Best in Finals: Arie Schoenmaker (Launceston)

Devil of the Year: Oscar Van Dam (North Launceston)

Toby Nankervis Rising Star: Harry Elmer (Devonport)

Brody Mihocek Award (Leading Goalkicker): Jack Dolliver (Clarence) – 28 Goals

Geordie Payne claimed the Jack Riewoldt Medal as the Devils’ Coates Talent League Boys best and fairest player, having delivered a consistent campaign with 18 disposals, five marks, three tackles and five rebound 50s per outing.

Payne finished eight votes clear of fellow north-west coaster Beau Nash, who also enjoyed a terrific campaign in which he averaged 21 disposals, six tackles and three inside 50s per game.

Oscar Van Dam was recognised as the ‘Devil of the Year’, while Harry Elmer’s impressive season saw him named the Toby Nankervis Rising Star

Super-boot Arie Schoenmaker was also recognised, named the Devils’ best finals player, while Jack Dolliver claimed the leading goalkicker award, named after Collingwood premiership player Brody Mihocek, after a 28-goal season.

Tasmania Devils – Coates Talent League Boys Best and Fairest
  Player Home Club Votes


1st Geordie Payne Wynyard 103
2nd Beau Nash Devonport 97
3rd Oscar Van Dam North Launceston 96
4th Tom Beaumont Launceston 91
5th Colby McKercher Launceston 82




Best & Fairest: Meg Harrison (Kingborough)

Best & Fairest Runner Up: Mackenzie Ford (Kingborough)

Devil of the Year: Sophie Strong (Sandy Bay) Rising Star: Mackenzie Williams (North Hobart)

Coaches Award: Candice Belbin (Ulverstone)

Leading Goalkicker: Ava Read (North Hobart) – 20 Goals

Kingborough’s Meg Harrison claimed the Coates Talent League Girls best and fairest award, having averaged 13 disposals, three marks, three tackle and two rebound 50s a game.

Harrison polled 111 votes to finish eight votes clear of fellow Tiger Mackenzie Ford, who averaged 14 disposals and seven tackles per game.

Sophie Strong was named the Devil of the Year, while Mackenzie Williams was recognised as the team’s Rising Star.

Captain Candice Belbin claimed the Coaches Award, while Ava Read was recognised as the team’s leading goalkicker.

Tasmania Devils – Coates Talent League Girls Best and Fairest
  Player Home Club Votes
1st Meg Harrison Kingborough 111
2nd Mackenzie Ford Kingborough 103
3rd Mackenzie Williams North Hobart 95
4th Ava Read North Hobart 93
5th Grace White North Hobart 91



Grant Birchall Medallist (Best & Fairest): Jasper Hay (North Launceston)

Best & Fairest Runner Up: Lucas Wootton (South Launceston)

‘Devil of the Series’: Jack Miller (North Hobart)

Coaches Award: Malachi Sheehan (Wynyard)

Jasper Hay claimed the Grant Birchall Medal as the U16 Best and Fairest player, polling 38 votes – two clear of Lucas Wootton.

Jack Miller and Malachi Sheehan were also recognised, winning the ‘Devil of the Series’ and Coaches Award respectively.

Tasmania Devils – U16 Boys Best and Fairest
  Player Home Club Votes
1st Jasper Hay North Launceston 38
2nd Lucas Wootton South Launceston 36
= 3rd Jack Miller North Hobart 30
= 3rd Lachie Harris South Launceston 30
= 3rd Malachi Sheehan Wynyard 30



Best & Fairest: Harriet Bingley (East Launceston)

Best & Fairest Runner Up: Jorja Haberle (Launceston) ‘Devil of the Series’: Priya Bowering (Lauderdale) Coaches Award: Mischa Barwin (Lauderdale)

East Launceston’s Harriet Bingley was named the U16 Girls best and fairest player, polling 30 votes – one clear of Jorja Haberle.

Priya Bowering’s impressive performances saw her named ‘Devil of the Series’, while Mischa Barwin claimed the Coaches Award.

Tasmania Devils – U16 Girls Best and Fairest
  Player Home Club Votes


1st Harriet Bingley East Launceston 30
2nd Jorja Haberle Launceston 29
3rd Priya Bowering Lauderdale 28
4th Mischa Barwin Lauderdale 26
5th Olivia Pringle Wynyard 25